Leslie Z. Benet, Ph.D.
Leslie Z. Benet, Ph.D.
CurrentDepartment of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, CA 94143-0912, USA

Dr. Benet, Professor and former Chairman (1978-1998) of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, University of California San Francisco (UCSF), received his AB, BS and MS from the University of Michigan, and Ph.D. from UCSF. He has received eight honorary doctorates, four from European institutions: Uppsala University (1987), Leiden University (1995), University of Athens (2005) and Catholic University of Leuven (2010).
Dr. Benet served as President of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences (1985) and in 1986 was a founder and first President of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists. In 1987 he was elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine of the US National Academy of Sciences. In 1993-4 he served as President of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, from 1996-2000 as Chair of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) Board of Pharmaceutical Sciences and from 2006-2012 as Chair of the FIP Foundation for Education and Research. Most recent, among his many honors, were the Hunter Award in Therapeutics from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, the Distinguished Investigator Award of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology, Honorary Membership in FIP and the Ebert Prize from the American Pharmacists Association.
Dr. Benet has published over 530 scientific articles and book chapters, holds 11 patents and served as editor of 7 books. He is listed among the most highly cited pharmacologists worldwide and his peer-reviewed publications have been cited more than 20,000 times.