José A. Guimarães Morais
José A. Guimarães Morais
CurrentUniversity of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal

José A. Guimarães Morais (1942) is Professor Emeritus at the University of Lisbon. He received his degree in Pharmacy from the Faculdade de Farmácia da Universidade de Lisboa (FFUL) in 1972 and his MSc and PhD in Pharmaceutical Chemistry from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI (1980), under the supervision of Prof John Wagner. From 1981 he has held positions as Professor of Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics and Clinical Pharmacokinetics as well as Pharmacokinetics in Drug Development at FFUL. In 1998 he obtained his full professorship status. From 1995 to 2012 he was Dean of FFUL and served a term (4 years) as Pro-Rector of the University of Lisbon.
As a Professor of Pharmacology he has also been involved as a lecturer and in the coordination of several Master Programmes at FFUL: Community and Hospital Pharmacy, Advanced Pharmaceutics, Regulatory Affairs, Pharmaceutical Engineering and Advanced Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics.
Prof. Morais has been intensively involved in both the Portuguese and European Drug Regulatory System where he held several positions: Chairman of the Portuguese Medicines Evaluation Board, INFARMED, 1992 – 2010; Member of the Committee for Proprietary Medicinal Products (CPMP) of the EU, Brussels, 1987 – 1995 and EMEA London, 1995 – 2001; Chairman of the EWP and QWP Joint Group of Experts on Pharmacokinetic Issues, CPMP, 1997 – 2000 (which revised the BA/BE Note for Guidance); Member of the Scientific Committee for Medicinal Products and Medical Devices, DG XXIV European Commission, Brussels 1997 – 2000. He is currently member of the Pharmacokinetics Working Party (PKWP), EMA, since 2001 and PK expert for the assessment of European NDA’s. For this he was awarded a citation, a gold medal and a silver platter from the Ministry of Health, Portugal.
Other involvement in scientific as well as professional activities include: Member of the Management Committee of the COST B15 and B25 Actions, (European Cooperation in the field of Scientific and Technical Research), Eur. Science Foundation, Brussels, 2002 – 2009; Chairman and founding member for the Portuguese Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences, a member of the European Federation for Pharmaceutical Sciences (EUFEPS), since 1999; Member of the Executive Board of EUFEPS, 2007 – 2009; General Secretary for the European Association of Faculties of Pharmacy, 2006; President of COIFFA (Ibero-American Conference of Faculties of Pharmacy), 2011.
He was a member of the National Board of the Portuguese Pharmaceutical Society, 1986 – 1989 where he holds the title of Specialist in Regulatory Affairs and Industrial Pharmacy
His scientific areas of research interest include Absorption Pharmacokinetics: Bioavailability/ Bioequivalence; Therapeutic Drug Monitoring (TDM), Population Pharmacokinetics, Basic Pharmacokinetics, including modelling and simulation, Medicines Quality Control, Bioanalytical Methodology and Pharmaceutical Technology, especially Novel Drug Delivery Systems. He has been invited speaker in ca. 120 conferences and 150 communications in scientific meetings, co-authored more than 60 scientific articles, participated in the organisation of ca. 60 scientific meetings and supervised 11 Master and 17 PhD theses.